College Vs Apprenticeship

A-Levels, BTECs, UCAS points, Apprenticeships? It is all so confusing!

Leaving school is probably one of the most confusing and stressful times of anyone’s life. It is expected that we know what we want to do with our life and what career we see our selves with in 10 years time. You’re probably sitting there with all these different options swimming around in your head, asking yourself if you want to go to uni, swapping and changing careers, until you settle on google-ing ‘how to make money without A-levels?’

Its not easy and it never will be!

School will have probably been telling you that this is the most important decision of your life and you should think about it a lot. For some people it comes easy and then 100% know what they want to do with their life and how they are going to get there. Most of us have changed ‘what we want to be’ 100’s of times.

Nurse

Hairdresser

Architect

Fashion designer

Accountant

Make-up artist

Estate agent

You name it, I’ve probably considered it in the past 2 years. I’m sat here 2 college course deep and still no idea ‘what I want to be’

College

This one is probably the easy option in my opinion, if you are academic enough you go for it and go through the stress of A-Levels, if your not academic and lean towards are more creative career path you go for a a BETC. So far I have sat 2 BETCs and i have finally come to the conclusion that a BETC isn’t for me, well in fact college isn’t for me. I have found that a BETC is very restricting, they are very specific to one subject and are only handy if you know that is what you want to pursue a career in.

 

Apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is suited to absolutely anybody, academic or not. You get trained whilst working on the job and earning a wage, as well as attending college 1 day a week or less to gain a qualification. However, the only downside to an apprenticeship is that again just like a BTEC they are very specific. I have been applying for an apprenticeship for about the past month now and I have applied for anything that is to do with blogging, journalism or IT in general. There are plenty of different fields within IT that I can apply for so I am not restricted in that sense. However, once I have an apprenticeship I can progress within that field. There is no option to swap and change.

 

I hope this isn’t as ramble-y as i feel like it is and it makes at least a little sense to those who are leaving school this year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

