Work Experience – Special Effects

Blood, latex, oats, gelatin and new people.

Since I finished work experience on Halloween, yes I know nearly a week ago, college has just been crazy busy! So big apologies for the lateness of this post!

Disclaimer: If you dont like bloody and potentially graphic things then this post probably isn’t for you. 

If you dont follow me on twitter (shameless plug, go follow me https://twitter.com/Niamhyyy99) then you probably wont even know that I have been on work experience so I better start off at the beginning.

I have nearly finished my first term of a new college course (Hair and Media Make-Up) and let me tell you I have never been more excited to actually get up and learn. So with this college course I get a lot of opportunities one of which was to experiment with special effects for Beamish Museum Halloween Spectacular which the performing arts and media students were taking part in.

Halloween isn’t my most favored time of the year and I usually can’t wait for it to be over. However, with the help of new people and some special effects I have officially started to actually enjoy Halloween. Can you believe it! Me liking Halloween. This is the person who turns YouTube off when they decide to show scary trailers, screams at the sight of anything that is remotely scary and is pretty sickly at the sight of blood.

The first day I was shaking like a leaf and didn’t dare touch anyones face or do anything the slightest bit messy and by the last day I was talking away to all my “zombie” friends and throwing as much blood as I possibly could on their face!

I was fairly happy with how most of these turned out. The bottom left picture is probably my least favourite as it isn’t blended into the skin very well and is clearly fake but never the less I had a good time and dont feel sick looking at these pictures any more!

I dont think this post was very informative but I thought it would be nice to have a little document on what I’ve been up to and so on.

 

One thought on “Work Experience – Special Effects

Leave a comment